Wikidata:WikiProject Linked Data for Production/2020-02-21 Wikidata Working Hour

February 21, 2020 Wikidata Working HourEdit

Friday, February 21, 2020 at 11:30am PST / 2:30pm EST / 19:30 UTC / 8:30pm CET

LogisticsEdit

https://stanford.zoom.us/j/204437188

Create a Wikimedia account if you don't already have one

MetricsEdit

Login to the Event Dashboard with your Wikimedia account to keep track of your edits today

You're welcome to work on your own projects, but if you're looking for things to work on, consider adding and GLAM institutions in Wikidata as part of the FindingGLAMs Challenge.

If you'd like to participate in the Challenge, you need to enroll.

Ways to contributeEdit

  • The Monumental GLAM tool displays data about cultural heritage institutions through Wikidata, Wikipedia, and Wikimedia Commons. It allows you to browse and edit Wikidata items near your location or search for an institution by name or location. This is an easy way to find institutions. If you are adding an email address through the tool, be sure to add the prefix mailto: to avoid an error, ie. mailto:info@example.org
  • Find libraries lacking an official website in using country (P17) (query can be modified for other countries): [Try it]

Resources for adding libraries, museums, archives, and cultural venuesEdit

LibrariesEdit

MuseumsEdit

ArchivesEdit

Cultural venues like theatersEdit

Data Structure IssuesEdit

Some modeling issues you may run into are outlined here

Modeling an organization and the building it is housed in