Wikidata:WikiProject Linked Data for Production/2020-04-17 Wikidata Working Hour

April 17, 2020 Wikidata Working HourEdit

Friday, April 17, 2020 at 11:30am PDT / 2:30pm EDT / 18:30 UTC / 8:30pm CEST

Next Working Hour: Monday, April 27, 2020 at 8am PDT / 11am EDT / 15:00 UTC / 5pm CEST

LogisticsEdit

https://stanford.zoom.us/j/204437188

Create a Wikimedia account if you don't already have one

MetricsEdit

Login to the Event Dashboard with your Wikimedia account to keep track of your edits today

You're welcome to work on your own projects, but if you're looking for things to work on, consider working on Wikidata WikiProject COVID-19.

Ways to ContributeEdit

WikiProject COVID-19 Open task list

Work on enhancing scientific journal articles on COVID-19Edit

Use this query from WikiProject COVID-19 to find scientific journal articles that have at least one of the main subject (P921): SARS-CoV-2 (Q82069695), COVID-19 (Q84263196), COVID-19 pandemic (Q81068910)

The following query uses these:

  • Properties: instance of (P31)     , main subject (P921)     , publication date (P577)     
    SELECT DISTINCT ?item ?itemLabel ?pdate
    {
      VALUES ?topics { wd:Q82069695 wd:Q84263196 wd:Q81068910 } 
      ?item wdt:P31 wd:Q13442814.
      ?item wdt:P921 ?topics.
      OPTIONAL { ?item wdt:P577 ?pdate }
      SERVICE wikibase:label { bd:serviceParam wikibase:language "en" } .
    }
    

Add missing authors to scientific journal articles on COVID-19Edit

1. Find scientific journal articles lacking authors that have at least one of the main subject (P921): SARS-CoV-2 (Q82069695), COVID-19 (Q84263196), COVID-19 pandemic (Q81068910)

The following query uses these:

2. Search for the author names found in author name string (P2093) in Wikidata to see if an item already exists for the author.

  • At this point, it may be useful to search for an open-access copy of the article, or to search the article title in your library's catalog to see if you have access to a PDF or other full text, because the article may contain an individual author's ORCiD ID or affiliations. These may help you to confirm a match between an author name string and a Wikidata item. Or, you may want to add this information to a new Wikidata item.

3. If you find an item, proceed to step 4. If you don't find an item, create one for the author. See Stanford's Wikidata Working Group's data model for faculty to find appropriate properties to add to the item.

4. Add author (P50) with the Wikidata item you have found or created for the author and qualify it with series ordinal (P1545) and the author's position. If the author's name appears differently on the publication than on the author's label, you can add the name as it appears on the publication using the qualifier stated as (P1932).

5. Remove the author's name string statement from the author name string (P2093).


Add missing authors to scientific journal articles on COVID-19 using the Author Disambiguator ToolEdit

1. Find scientific journal articles lacking authors that have at least one of the main subject (P921): SARS-CoV-2 (Q82069695), COVID-19 (Q84263196), COVID-19 pandemic (Q81068910)

The following query uses these:

2. Search for the author by first and last name found in author name string (P2093) in the Author Disambiguator Tool.

3. Choose "Fuzzy match" and then click "Look for author" button.

4. Potential publications are found. Under "Group 1" click "Uncheck all," so that you can verify author matches.

5. Look at each publication to determine if the publication author matches the Wikidata item the tool has found in the "Match?" column. Clicking the matched name string link takes you to a page with a link to the Wikidata item as well as the author's publications.

6. If you can verify that the publication belongs to the match, click the checkbox beside the name string in the "Authors (identified)" column.

7. Once you have gone through the publications, choose the QID for the author to match the publications with in the "Potential author items" section.

8. Click "Link works to selected author" button.


Add your local hospitals to WikidataEdit

1. Search Wikidata to see if your local hospitals already have items.

2. Create an item with label, aliases, and description or enhance one.

3. Possible properties to include:

Property Value Example
instance of (P31) hospital (Q16917) or medical organization (Q4287745)
country (P17) sovereign state United States of America (Q30)
located in the administrative territorial entity (P131) state, province, county, town, etc. Santa Clara (Q159260)
coordinate location (P625) geocoordinates; only WGS84 coordinating system is supported at the moment 37°20'11.036"N, 121°59'51.482"W
street address (P6375) full street address where subject is located; include building number through to post code 710 Lawrence Expy, Santa Clara, CA 95051
postal code (P281) zipcode 95051
phone number (P1329) telephone number in standard format (RFC3966), without 'tel:' prefix +1-408-851-1000
official website (P856) official website https://thrive.kaiserpermanente.org/care-near-you/northern-california/santaclara/
parent organization (P749) parent company or organization Kaiser Permanente (Q1721601) parent organization of Kaiser Permanente Santa Clara Medical Center (Q30280234)

Example: Kaiser Permanente Santa Clara Medical Center (Q30280234)

ResourcesEdit

ToolsEdit

Author Disambiguator Tool by QID

Author Disambiguator Tool by first and last name

Cradle TemplatesEdit

The Cradle Tool provides you with a template to create certain types of items. There are templates for adding authors, journals, and articles that you may find helpful. Note that the template does not allow you to add references, so once you have created your item using the template, you'll need to add references to it.

Adding References to WikidataEdit

Journal and news articles in WikidataEdit