Wikidata:WikiProject Linked Data for Production/2020-05-29 Wikidata Working Hour

May 29, 2020 Wikidata Working HourEdit

Friday, May 29, 2020 at 11:30am PDT / 2:30pm EDT / 18:30 UTC / 8:30pm CEST

Next Working Hour: Friday, June 12, 2020 at 11:30am PDT / 2:30pm EDT / 18:30 UTC / 8:30pm CEST

LogisticsEdit

https://stanford.zoom.us/j/204437188

Create a Wikimedia account if you don't already have one

MetricsEdit

Login to the Event Dashboard with your Wikimedia account to keep track of your edits today

You're welcome to work on your own projects, but if you're looking for things to work on, consider working on Wikidata WikiProject COVID-19 and adding references as part of the #1Lib#1Ref Campaign.

ReferencesEdit

Most statements on Wikidata should be verifiable in some source of information. They point to a source that supports the data in a statement. References have a property and value like statements. The value is the source. The property is usually:

  stated in (P248) for publications and media
  reference URL (P854) for websites and online databases
References are not required in some circumstances:Edit
  • Statement represents common knowledge that isn’t disputed
 George Washington (Q23)instance of (P31)human (Q5)
  • Statement refers to an external source of information that can be easily verified
 Mary Jo White (Q6779939)ISNI (P213)0000 0000 4948 7201
  • Item itself is a source for the statement
References for WebsitesEdit

The most common sources in Wikidata are probably websites. Use reference URL (P854) with the website as the value and retrieved (P813) with the date you accessed the website.

Helpful Resources about ReferencesEdit

Ways to ContributeEdit

Add references to authors who have published papers on COVID-19Edit

1. Find authors using this query:

The following query uses these:

2. Choose items and look for statements that don't have references. Try to find references to support statements that need them.

3. If you find useful sources and would like to enhance the author item by adding statements, the Stanford Libraries Wikidata WikiProject has a helpful list of properties for academic faculty that can also apply to researchers in general.

Add references to items for people with archives at your institutionEdit

1. Find people using this query:

The following query uses these:

  • Properties: archives at (P485)     
    SELECT ?human ?humanLabel
    WHERE
    {
        ?human wdt:P485 wd:Q60339057 . #substitute your institution here
        SERVICE wikibase:label { bd:serviceParam wikibase:language "[AUTO_LANGUAGE],en" }
    }
    

2. Choose items and look for statements that don't have references. Try to find references to support statements that need them.

3. If you find useful sources and would like to enhance the person item by adding statements, the Stanford Libraries Wikidata WikiProject has a helpful list of properties for academic faculty that could be helpful.

Add references to items for staff and faculty at your institutionEdit

1. Find people using this query:

The following query uses these:

  • Properties: employer (P108)     
    SELECT ?human ?humanLabel
    WHERE
    {
        ?human wdt:P108 wd:Q41506 . #substitute your institution here
        SERVICE wikibase:label { bd:serviceParam wikibase:language "[AUTO_LANGUAGE],en" }
    }
    

2. Choose items and look for statements that don't have references. Try to find references to support statements that need them.

3. If you find useful sources and would like to enhance the person item by adding statements, the Stanford Libraries Wikidata WikiProject has a helpful list of properties for academic faculty that could be helpful.