Wikidata:WikiProject Linked Data for Production/2020-09-14 Wikidata Working Hour

September 14, 2020 Wikidata Working HourEdit

Monday, September 14, 2020 at 8:00am PDT / 11:00am EDT / 15:00 UTC / 5:00pm CEST

LogisticsEdit

https://stanford.zoom.us/j/96318784757?pwd=eGQ3ZWQ1RmhweW9nS0dtaU1oMGZwZz09
Password: 793683
Recording: https://stanford.zoom.us/rec/share/NtfcC_uCbpLJohQnQgMfqGwSx6-OkJGBwXekqluhmoqu8ePaR37Yx9wGDNCsn0be.vKryjLyJJsm1mVCK?startTime=1600095923000
Create a Wikimedia account if you don't already have one

MetricsEdit

Login to the Event Dashboard with your Wikimedia account to keep track of your edits today

ResourcesEdit

Rob Fernandez's presentation: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Listeria_presentation_LD4_Wikidata_Affinity_Group_2020.pdf

Notes: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1GeKcUNdoWKwKz0T-bxR6GG6EM8FLzEHuvv9aOIYLZZ8/edit?usp=sharing

Recording: https://stanford.zoom.us/rec/share/IIvevG-Z2x-qCYr2Lhtc0mLQYUBphhXGCmPnpP9tTH_YOSGv7RN823czxuv2VBB6.r7NO0HUVQDnDE3_4?startTime=1599580267000

Getting StartedEdit

You can experiment with Listeria on your own user page Special:Mypage or create a subpage of your user page Special:Mypage/Listeria

SPARQL Queries for generating listsEdit

You'll need a SPARQL query to use. You can use your own or try and/or adapt this one:

The following query uses these:


Query ResourcesEdit

Introduction to Querying Wikidata with SPARQL video tutorial - easy to follow in depth introduction

Building SPARQL Queries by Navino Evans

wikibooks:SPARQL - great reference for creating SPARQL queries

Wikidata:Request_a_query - you can try requesting a query if you are having trouble creating one

ListeriaEdit

Now on your user page or the subpage you've created use the Wikidata List template with your SPARQL query:

{{Wikidata list
|sparql= SELECT ?item WHERE
{
  ?item wdt:P31 wd:Q5.
  ?item wdt:P106 wd:Q27532437.
}
|wdq=
|sort=P570
|columns=label:name,P18,description,P569,P570,P106,item
|thumb=70
|min_section=2
|summary=itemnumber
}}




{{wikidata list end}}

See page 4 of Rob's presentation for an explanation of the template: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Listeria_presentation_LD4_Wikidata_Affinity_Group_2020.pdf

Remember you must use the variable ?item in your query.

QuestionsEdit

Each Listeria template needs to be on a separate page.

However, you can pull in a Listeria template from one page to another.

You can use different Listeria templates in different tabs.

There is not a header parameter to pull in a header for the template, but you could use Wiki text or do something like was done on this page:

How are people using Listeria?

Article shared: Libraries think they are notable: Using WorldCat holdings data to fill gaps in Wikipedia: https://hangingtogether.org/?p=8222

DocumentationEdit

Wikidata:Listeria

Dynamic ListsEdit

https://listeria.toolforge.org/dynamic.html#