Wikidata:WikiProject Linked Data for Production/Finding GLAMs Campaign

Finding GLAMs CampaignEdit

The Finding GLAMs campaign runs October 8-29, 2019. LD4 Wikidata Affinity Group meeting notes and slides about the Finding GLAMs campaign.

Working HoursEdit

Times to get together to work on adding and improving GLAM institution data on Wikidata. Join in via Zoom or participate and share questions and comments on the #wikidata Slack channel. Find the link to join Slack here.

Dates and times: Friday, October 11th at 9am PDT / 12pm EDT / 16:00 UTC / 6pm CEST Tuesday, October 15th at 8am PDT/ 11 am EDT/ 15:00 UTC / 5pm CEST Wednesday, October 16th at 8am PDT/ 11 am EDT/ 15:00 UTC / 5pm CEST Thursday, October 17th at 9am PDT / 12pm EDT / 16:00 UTC / 6pm CEST Friday, October 18th at 12pm PDT / 3pm EDT / 19:00 UTC / 9pm CEST Monday, October 21st at 11:30am-12:40pm PDT / 2:30-3:40pm EDT / 18:30-19:40 UTC / 8:30-9:40pm CEST

Ways to contributeEdit

  • The Monumental GLAM tool displays data about cultural heritage institutions through Wikidata, Wikipedia, and Wikimedia Commons. It allows you to browse and edit Wikidata items near your location or search for an institution by name or location. This is an easy way to find institutions. If you are adding an email address through the tool, be sure to add the prefix mailto: to avoid an error, ie. mailto:info@example.org
  • Find libraries lacking an official website in using country (P17) (query can be modified for other countries): [Try it]

Resources for adding libraries, museums, archives, and cultural venuesEdit

LibrariesEdit

MuseumsEdit

ArchivesEdit

Cultural venues like theatersEdit

Data Structure IssuesEdit

Some modeling issues you may run into are outlined here

Modeling an organization and the building it is housed in