Wikidata:Property proposal/indexed in bibliographic review

indexed in bibliographic reviewEdit

Originally proposed at Wikidata:Property proposal/Creative work

Descriptionbibliographic review(s) and/or database(s) which contain this academic journal
Representsbibliographic review (Q59156132)
Data typeItem
Domainacademic journal (Q737498)
Example 1Atene e Roma (Q15756358)L'Année philologique (Q749828)
Example 2JLIS.it (Q3805294)Library and Information Science Abstracts (Q3831775)
Example 3Games and Culture (Q5520104)Scopus (Q371467)
Example 4Gastroenterología y Hepatología (Q27714100)MEDLINE (Q1540899)
Planned useSlow manual additions, maybe some semiautomatic imports

MotivationEdit

<ping project should not be used in an indented reply> Aubrey
Viswaprabha (talk)
Micru
Tpt
EugeneZelenko
User:Jarekt
Maximilianklein (talk)
Don-kun
VIGNERON (talk)
Jane023 (talk) 08:21, 30 May 2013 (UTC)
Alexander Doria (talk)
Ruud 23:15, 24 June 2013 (UTC)
Kolja21
arashtitan
Jayanta Nath
Yann (talk)
John Vandenberg (talk) 09:14, 30 November 2013 (UTC)
JakobVoss
Danmichaelo (talk) 19:30, 16 February 2014 (UTC)
Ravi (talk)
Mvolz (talk) 08:21, 20 July 2014 (UTC)
Hsarrazin (talk) 07:56, 9 August 2014 (UTC)
Accurimbono
Mushroom
PKM (talk) 19:58, 10 October 2014 (UTC)
Revi 16:54, 29 November 2014 (UTC)
Giftzwerg 88 (talk) 23:36, 1 January 2015 (UTC)
Almondega (talk) 00:17, 5 August 2015 (UTC)
maxlath
Jura to help sort out issues with other projects
Epìdosis
Skim (talk) 13:52, 24 June 2016 (UTC)
Marchitelli (talk) 12:29, 5 August 2016 (UTC)
Alexmar983 (talk) 23:53, 28 August 2016 (UTC)
Finn Årup Nielsen (fnielsen) (talk) 10:44, 29 August 2016 (UTC)
Chiara (talk) 14:15, 29 August 2016 (UTC)
Thibaut120094 (talk) 20:31, 14 September 2016 (UTC)
Ivanhercaz | Discusión   15:30, 31 October 2016 (UTC)
YULdigitalpreservation (talk) 17:35, 10 November 2016 (UTC)
User:Jc3s5h
PatHadley (talk) 21:51, 15 December 2016 (UTC)
Erica (ohmyerica) (talk) 19:26, 1 January 2017 (UTC)
User:Timmy_Finnegan
Mauricio V. Genta (talk) 05:38, 12 March 2017 (UTC)
Sam Wilson 09:24, 24 May 2017 (UTC)
Sic19 (talk) 22:25, 12 July 2017 (UTC)
Andreasmperu
MartinPoulter (talk) 09:21, 20 July 2017 (UTC)
ThelmadatterThelmadatter (talk) 01:11, 13 September 2017 (UTC)
Zeroth (talk) 15:01, 16 September 2017 (UTC)
Emeritus
Ankry
Beat Estermann (talk) 20:07, 12 November 2017 (UTC)
Shilonite - specialize in cataloging Jewish & Hebrew books
Elena moz
Oa01 (talk) 10:52, 3 February 2018 (UTC)
Maria zaos (talk) 11:39, 25 March 2018 (UTC)
Wikidelo (talk) 13:07, 15 April 2018 (UTC)
Mfchris84 (talk) 10:08, 27 April 2018 (UTC)
Mlemusrojas (talk) 3:36, 30 April 2018 (UTC)
salgo60 Salgo60 (talk) 12:42, 8 May 2018 (UTC)
Dick Bos (talk) 14:35, 16 May 2018 (UTC)
Marco Chemello (BEIC) (talk) 07:26, 30 May 2018 (UTC)
Harshrathod50
 徵國單  (討論 🀄) (方孔錢 💴) 14:35, 20 July 2018 (UTC)
Alicia Fagerving (WMSE)
Louize5 (talk) 20:05, 11 September 2018 (UTC)
Viztor (talk) 05:48, 6 November 2018 (UTC)
RaymondYee (talk) 21:12, 29 November 2018 (UTC)
Merrilee (talk) 22:14, 29 November 2018 (UTC)
Kcoyle (talk) 22:17, 29 November 2018 (UTC)
JohnMarkOckerbloom (talk) 22:58, 29 November 2018 (UTC)
Tris T7 TT me
Helmoony (talk) 19:49, 8 December 2018 (UTC)
Naunc1
Shooke (talk) 19:17, 12 January 2019 (UTC)
DarwIn (talk) 14:58, 14 January 2019 (UTC)
I am Davidzdh. 16:08, 18 February 2019 (UTC)
Juandev (talk) 10:03, 27 February 2019 (UTC)
Buccalon (talk) 15:51, 27 March 2019 (UTC)
MJLTalk 16:48, 8 April 2019 (UTC)
Rosiestep (talk) 20:26, 24 April 2019 (UTC)
Dcflyer (talk) 12:23, 7 May 2019 (UTC)
Susanna Giaccai (talk) 05:56, 29 July 2019 (UTC)
Asaf Bartov (talk) 19:03, 31 July 2019 (UTC)
Msuicat (talk) 17:58, 6 August 2019 (UTC)
SilentSpike (talk) 15:27, 12 August 2019 (UTC)
TheFireBender (talk) 12:40, 20 August 2019 (UTC)
Jumtist (talk) 21:45, 22 October 2019 (UTC)
Irønie
Openly
DrLibraryCat (talk) 18:25, 25 November 2019 (UTC)
ShawnMichael100 (talk) 20:04, 25 November 2019 (UTC)
Lmbarrier (talk) 19:47, 2 December 2019 (UTC)
Satpal Dandiwal (talk) 17:32, 16 December 2019 (UTC)
Rosiestep (talk) 17:08, 14 February 2020 (UTC)
AndrewNJ
Franzsimon
Vladis13
Clifford Anderson (talk) 01:37, 1 April 2020 (UTC)
Discostu (talk) 09:02, 9 April 2020 (UTC)
Subodh (talk)
Iwan.Aucamp (talk) 14:02, 27 April 2020 (UTC)
Алексей Скрипник (talk) 15:31, 4 May 2020 (UTC)
MLeonStewart (talk) 18:04, 11 May 2020 (UTC)
ArielBritoJiménez (talk) 16:17, 31 May 2020 (UTC)
DanielleJWiki (talk) 16:16, 8 June 2020 (UTC)
Ninovolador (talk)
Blrtg1
Alex (talk) 06:05, 3 August 2020 (UTC)
Alex_Q (talk) 11:11, 18 September 2020 (UTC)
See the bright light (talk)
Alessandra Boccone (talk) 11:18, 6 November 2020 (UTC)
Uomovariabile (talk) 09:54, 13 November 2020 (UTC)
Pru.mitchell (talk) 08:11, 17 November 2020 (UTC)
Carlobia (talk) 13:34, 26 November 2020 (UTC)
Mathieu Kappler (talk) 11:31, 12 December 2020 (UTC)
Pierre Tribhou (talk) 19:19, 28 December 2020 (UTC)
  Notified participants of WikiProject Books Bibliographic reviews and databases are important factors to judge the authority and the diffusion of academic journals. Potential qualifiers: start time (P580), end time (P582). Epìdosis 09:50, 13 November 2020 (UTC)

DiscussionEdit

  •   Support nice idea. -- Bargioni 🗣 10:01, 13 November 2020 (UTC)
  •   Comment wouldn't this duplicate properties we already have for some of them? --- Jura 09:27, 14 November 2020 (UTC)
    @Jura1: I haven't found properties pertaining specifically to this case. --Epìdosis 13:37, 14 November 2020 (UTC)
    • Sorry, somehow I misread the proposal. We do have ids for articles indexed in some (which may be applied to items for articles in these journals), but not the above. --- Jura 13:41, 14 November 2020 (UTC)
    • We actually do have scopus source id (P1156). --- Jura 08:47, 15 November 2020 (UTC)
  •   Support --- Jura 13:41, 14 November 2020 (UTC)
  •   Support - we can potentially use things like database IDs as a proxy for this, but having an item would make it easier to do things like record coverage dates and so on. I'd recommend "indexed in database" as the primary title and "...bibliographic review" as the alternative, though - I suspect this will be dominated by uses for the big bibliographic databases. Andrew Gray (talk) 23:11, 16 November 2020 (UTC)
  • @Epìdosis: this seems to be ready for creation, except for the question about the label. Obviously, a more general label might lead to other issues. What do you think? --- Jura 13:28, 20 November 2020 (UTC)
    @Jura1: I marked it as ready. No problem for me having "indexed in database" as label and "indexed in bibliographic review" as alias, or viceversa, as you prefer. --Epìdosis 14:38, 20 November 2020 (UTC)
    Perhaps "indexed in bibliographic database" would be better? Agree "database" might be too general, but I think it is worth having the label align with the most common way it's going to be used. Andrew Gray (talk) 18:00, 20 November 2020 (UTC)
    • There is still the description that requires the values to be journals (and not articles or anything), but ideally we would have three samples that would justify the change of label, or an explanation why three of the current samples would required a different label. --- Jura 06:59, 21 November 2020 (UTC)
  • I had originally commented thinking that the most common uses for this property would be things that we definitely call "bibliographic databases" - eg Scopus and Medline, examples #3 and #4 - so that should be the primary label. I wasn't very familiar with "bibliographic review" but assumed it was common in a different field.
But after looking into it a bit more, it doesn't look like "bibliographical review" is widely used for this sort of thing in English - most examples I could find are people using it to mean review article, not a specialised type of journal. So I think using that label is going to cause confusion regardless. Andrew Gray (talk) 00:15, 25 November 2020 (UTC)
@Epìdosis, Bargioni, Jura1, Andrew Gray:   Done indexed in bibliographic review (P8875) Pamputt (talk) 15:24, 27 November 2020 (UTC)